The Twins

I know. It’s Wednesday. A few days ago, while I was driving to work, I wrote yesterday’s blog post. In my head. By the time I got to work, I forgot what the subject was let alone what I was going to say. And I haven’t been able to remember it in the days since. Must have meant it was a boring subject. Oh well. But that meant that I had nothing for yesterday. And suddenly I needed to think of something else.

A few weeks ago, I caved. I had joined Tumblr a few years ago, but did absolutely nothing with it. And a few weeks ago, I started doing stuff. And I found that it was incredibly FUN. And now I’m addicted. While I write because I enjoy writing (and I immensely love cackling when I kill fictional people), I do want to make it my only source of money. I know, good luck Krysteen. But seriously. I would love to be a full time writer. Easier said than done. But in order to achieve this goal, I kind of need to market myself. Which means joining social media sites that I had been avoiding (0n purpose) for so long. So now I am on twitter and Tumblr. I am learning to enjoy twitter for its simplicity and ease of use (and I’m getting better at this hashtag nonsense) and I’m openly embracing everything I find on Tumblr.

My favorite thing about both of these sites has to be all the amazing writing things I find. From prompts to advice, from authors to publishing platforms. Holy cow! I can’t believe I allowed myself to keep my head in the sand for so long. This stuff is so awesome. There are more of these kinds of things on Tumblr though, most likely because of the whole character limit twitter has. And last night, I tried my very first intentional flash fiction. I’ve written short pieces before, but not since I discovered that flash fiction was an actual thing, so I am going to consider this my first. So, now, I give you…

The Twins

rigor_mortis_1

He woke up early the next morning, the bedclothes still tousled, his skin prickling with the memories of the night before. He slowly sat up as he rubbed the sleep out of his eyes, looking around him for them.

Congratulating himself on not only his manly feat, but for also getting rid of them without the morning after awkwardness, he pulled on his pajama pants and walked out of his bedroom door.

His hallway was gone.

“What the fuck.” His mind instantly cleared as his eyes adjusted to the sudden dimness. His boring, small, white painted hallway had been replaced with what looked like the hallway of an abandoned insane asylum. Curiosity drowned out the nagging fear and he walked out the door. The door to his bedroom slammed shut behind him and seemed to melt away into the moldy walls. His skin prickled again, this time for something less pleasurable. He turned back around as a lone light began to flicker just outside his vision. His heart dropped as his eyes fell on them.

The twins. The ones he had pursued for months stood halfway down the dank, moldy hall lined with barred doors. The light above them flickered in a slow rhythm.

Flick.

Pause.

Flick. Flick. Flick.

Pause.

The light was driving him mad. But not as mad as the twins. They stood there in complete silence.

In complete stillness.

Fear rolled in waves all over his mind and body. His eyes darted all around him.

Barred door to his right.

Twins.

Flickering light.

Twins.

The black pool of water in the corner.

Twins.

Flick.

Twins.

Pause.

Twins.

Flick. Flick. Flick.

Twins.

He couldn’t take it anymore. He screamed. He yelled for them to leave. He yelled for them to stop. He yelled for them to do something, anything.

The beautiful twins. He just couldn’t believe it. Last night they were your classic beauties. Almond shaped hazel eyes. Chestnut hair. Creamy skin. Bubbly personalities. And the skimpiest clothing you had ever seen.

Now they looked drastically different, but he knew it was them. Their eyes were still the same. Hair dripping in gunk. Sullen expressions. Grey skin. But the eyes. They looked like demons in their blood stained nightgowns. How could their eyes be so human?

His heart beat faster as the light flickered faster.

Flick.

Flick. Flick. Flick.

Flick.

Flick. Flick. Flick.

He knees trembled. His palms dripped. His eyes bulged.

Feeling close to tears, and madness, he looked at the twins once more, hatred burning through his being. He yelled once more.

Nothing came out.

The light stopped flickering.

The twins slowly smiled.

Tears filmed over his eyes.

Slowly, they turned their heads to look at each other, the smiles on their faces growing to disproportionate sizes.

His knees buckled as he began to sob. Apologies fell on deaf ears. The light flickered, out of control.

Suddenly they were staring him down, the grins and sullenness replaced by a piercing anger.

Flick.

Flick.

Flick.

Flick.

Flick. Flick. Flick. Flick. Flick. Flick. Flick. Flick. Flick. Flick. Flick. Flick. Flick. Flick. Flick. Flick. Flick. Flick. Flick. Flick. Flick. Flick. Flick. Flick. Flick. Flick.

Suddenly their faces changed. Their mouths opened up wide, taking up the majority of their faces. A vacuum like sound issued from deep in their throats. Rows of teeth moved in alternating circles.

Then they screamed.

The ground shook.

The walls shook.

His inner ear burst.

His closed his eyes in the pain. When he opened them, they were right in front of his face. He screamed as the light burst.

Back at the bar, Jerry reached out for his beer as someone sat down on either side of him.

Taking a sip of the foamy broth, he turned his head right and raised his eyebrows at the pretty brunette.

“Hi!” She giggled as he placed his beer on the counter.

“Well howdy there.” He couldn’t smile large enough at her eagerness. She giggled again.

“I’m Tina.” He opened his mouth to respond.

“And I’m Gina.” His head spun around a little too fast. There on his left side was a replica of Tina. He grinned from ear to ear.

“Well ladies,” he spread his arms out and wrapped them around their shoulders. “how do you feel about Texans?”

The twins giggled.

Leave a Reply

