The Dilemma: Books to Movies

Yeah, if everyone could just stop publishing their books for the next two to three years, that’d be great. My to-read lists are so long. I haven’t counted, but I really wouldn’t be surprised if it was close to 1,000 books total if I were to put all of my to-read lists together. So. Many. Books. And I intend to read every single one of them, but that will be hard unless people stop publishing books (even ebooks). Otherwise the only thing that’s going to happen is that my list will get longer and I will die before I ever finish it. Ah, if only I were a wealthy hermit.

I’ve noticed that I do that kind of thing all the time though. Go to the extreme I mean. For instance, my super long book list. I received an email from Walmart yesterday to get 25 free 1-hour photos done. Sweet! So what do I do? Upload 200 pictures to print. I won’t be printing all of them right now because that’s around $15 (not a lot of money, but more than I want to spend right now). And I don’t even have a photo album. I have a large amount of ebooks on my Nook and my Kindle app on my phone. You’d be shocked at the number of socks I have. I freaking love socks. Especially when they’re brand new.

Everything is in the extreme. Socks, notebooks (darn you back to school deals!), pens, books, things to do (that list never ends. Ever.). My mom would probably call it hoarding. I call it enjoying things you love.

Oh well.

I have been reading A LOT lately. Mostly library books. But I went to see If I Stay last night, so I HAD to borrow the book from my boyfriend’s sister. Bring tissues. I know, I know; you’re thinking that you already knew that, but bring more than you originally thought you would need. I cried so much more than I thought I would.

I have developed this theory with books made into movies though. As it seems that all the great screenwriter’s are either dead, retiring, or have rekindled their love for writing rather than money and have moved their talents to novel writing, movies are originating from books more now than ever (I haven’t actually checked up on that ‘fact’, but let’s just go with it). Seriously, think about it. It seems like all the great movies in the last few years started out as books. The other selections are low budget horror films (Paranormal Activity: seriously, just stop), remakes of flops or classics, unwanted sequels, and a few good movies with original scripts. As I was watching the tear-jerker last night, my boyfriend went to see the new Ninja Turtles movie (we were in separate groups). He didn’t enjoy it. At all. Which I thought was surprising, but let’s face it, they took a beloved childhood classic, made it ‘real’, and threw Megan Fox in there for good measure. There’s a reason I chose to go to If I Stay instead. So because all the good movies seem to originate in novel form, and because the movie is never as good as the book, I’m refusing to read any books that are being made into movies before I’ve seen the movie. I know some people pride themselves on reading the books before they’re made into movies, congrats by the way, but I just don’t see the point of thinking you’re superior than everyone else because of that. I don’t care how long it takes you to read something, just read it. Besides I think I have the better idea. I tend to like the movie much more if I don’t read the book until after I’ve seen the movie. I’m not completely sure why, but this seems like a more ideal situation for me. I didn’t do that with Divergent. I saw the trailer for it when it first came out, got really excited to see it, vowed to not see it until I’ve at least read the first book, read the first book, saw the movie, didn’t enjoy movie nearly as much as everyone else did. Not that they did a bad job, it’s just that they didn’t include every little detail that was in the book. Kind of like Harry Potter. So, now I’m mad at myself. But because I’ve already started reading the series, I can’t just stop reading them until all of the movies are out and I’ve seen them. That’s just crazy talk. I have ruined the Divergent movies for myself.

Try out my theory though. See if it works for you. I’ve done it a few times before and I was happy every time. I discovered Pride and Prejudice after I saw the Keira Knightley version. I love book and movie. There are a few others too, I just can’t seem to think of them right now. I don’t plan on seeing The Fault In Our Stars. Read it. Enjoyed it. And I would like it to stay that way.

So If I Stay is sitting next to me in print form, I will read it and let you know if my theory still stands.

How do you feel about books to movies? Do you do what I do, or do you read the book first and forever more hate the movie and tell everyone about all the parts they left out?

4 thoughts on “The Dilemma: Books to Movies

Leave a Reply

