Character Progress

It’s amazing how little I do on my three days off. It’s almost like I get home from work Saturday morning, and then I just don’t have the energy to do anything else. And it’s staring me in the face in the form of this large pile of clean laundry. I wish I had the space to just hang everything; my life was much simpler when that was an option.

Also because I’ve been working a lot and haven’t had any energy during my time off, I haven’t been writing either. I’ve been thinking about it, trying to figure out what to do for each thing in turn. I was tempted to start one of my fantasy series, but decided against it because I just have so many things started already.

So I decided to focus on my horror short story, The Intruder.

At work last night I attempted to put myself into the mind of the main antagonist. He’s a rapist, murderer, and he’s psycho. So as I’m packing product, I keep trying to think like he would. It’s hard. How do you make yourself fantasy about that sort of thing? Not to mention I was trying hard not to make it obvious that I was doing funny things in my head; I don’t have a very good poker face, unless I’m playing poker.

But I did make a little progress with that character. Nothing I can reveal here without giving away the bad guy, but it is character progress. And character progress is what I’ll be working on for a little while. Maybe getting to know my characters a little better will help respark the creative fire.

Leave a Reply

