I Hate Titles

I am being extremely lazy today. I’ve been bad and played Facebook games all day. ALL DAY. Oh well. Now the kid is in bed for a nap, so I can write. Kind of. I wrote a total of 697 words yesterday. Not bad, but it could have been a lot better too.

I take that back. Her nap lasted 20 minutes. I miss the days when her naps meant I had two hours to myself during the day. Oh well. I’m not in much of a ‘horror’ mood today anyways. I feel more romantic today. So maybe I’ll work on my romance short story (that still doesn’t have a title) for a little bit today. It’s easier to write when My Little Pony is being watched and laughed at thirty feet away from me anyways.

It bugs (hehe) me that I have such a hard time coming up with titles for my books and short stories. Mostly. Bugs was easy and so wasn’t Love, Mommy (my romance novel, about 20,000 words into it). But they were the only two. I had written all of Come Find Me before I came up with the title. But I don’t know if that counts because it was less than 10,000 words. I sometimes feel like cheating by going onto my Sims game and stealing a title from one of my sims that writes all the time. Would that count as plagiarism? 

Who knows. I just know I’ll eventually come up with one. If I can’t, then maybe I’ll do some sort of beta reader contest and let my readers come up with one. That may work. Do any of you have the same problem as me? Or maybe with character names?

Character names are fairly easy for me. I tend to pick names for background characters from my friends and family. So far I’ve used:

my boyfriend – Adam in Bugs

my sister – Jenniffer, spelled different in Come Find Me

my best friend – Cara in The Intruder

my bf’s boyfriend – Michael in The Intruder

and her mom – Melody in The Intruder

my boyfriend’s last name – I’m not saying in The Intruder

my dad’s middle name – William in Love, Mommy

my mom’s middle name – Karen in Love, Mommy

my daughter’s middle name – Jane in Love, Mommy

my grandpa’s middle name – Michael in Love, Mommy

That’s it so far. I’m sure I’ll use more. But usually, I just turn to babynames.com for inspiration and name meanings. Or I use a name I absolutely love. Like Elizabeth from Bugs and Love, Mommy. However, in Bugs she’s referred to as Lizzy and in Love, Mommy she’s referred to as Ellie. I’m going to have to ban myself from that name though once these two are done. Too many Elizabeth’s will only confuse people. Or irritate them.

I love doing name meanings though. Elizabeth means God is oath. Which is kind of why I went with that name in Love, Mommy but it had nothing to do with it’s choosing for Bugs, Lizzy is just a cute name for a little five year old. The Thompson’s are the family that adopts Maggie and Lizzy in Bugs. While they’re last name was chosen due to it’s lack of distraction and it’s simplicity, the first names were chosen for their meanings.

Gideon (father and husband) means great warrior.

Hannah (mother and wife) means grace.

I’m sure I chose Rufus and Adam for their meanings too, but the meanings on babynames doesn’t make sense so I’m wondering if I used a different site the day I chose them, because, let’s face it, no one names their kid Rufus.

That’s how I choose my names for my characters. I only wish picking titles were just as easy. I have way too many untitleds in my list.

Leave a Reply

