Getting Back Into The Swing Of Things

I have been writing quite a bit lately. I finally feel like my head is back into my book. Yay! And I really think I have a certain book to thank for it. I’ve been going to the library a lot lately, borrowing books about different aspects of writing. The format, editing, ideas, how to write this way versus that way, and whatnot. And right now, I only have two that I’ve borrowed. One is a writing book camp book (I’m enjoying it but I have to actually sit down and read it). And the other one is called Bullies, Bastards, and Bitches by Jessica Page Morrell. It’s pretty awesome. It’s basically a guide on how to write the type of antagonist that you need. It has several categories of villains and what each one is and how it differentiates from other antagonists. Granted, it never mentions the antagonist/villain being dead but alive (like a ghost), but I feel that it all still applies. I read everything that I felt that I needed from the book (which was at least half of it) and I felt more connected with my villain.

I already knew what kind of person he is and his back story, but reading the book encouraged me to look deeper into him (and a few of the other characters as well) and now I feel like he is more complete. So super exciting for me.

And because I’m beginning to feel more into it, I finished Chapter 7 last night (1,153 words). Tonight I’m going to write the last 1,000 words I need for Chapter 8 and do some character biographies, long ones. Then all I need to do is write all of Chapter 9 and the first part of 10 to be completely caught up to where I was when my flashdrive had it’s meltdown last November. Yay!

When I was celebrating my successful finish last night, I realized something. I’m happy that my flashdrive committed suicide. The things I’m writing now are better than what I had originally written. So it’s like I burned parts of my first draft and these new parts are my second draft. Kind of. Because the entire thing is going to need a second draft. Badly. It’s kind of funny now when I remember that I used to think that I could get away with publishing what I first wrote with some proofreading. Ha! I will need to go over a few more times before I give it to proofreaders and beta readers. The old way of thinking in me is cringing at the thought that this could take several more months before it’s published, I had originally wanted it to be fully published and readable by the beginning of March. But the sensible part of me is telling the old part of me to calm it’s tits.

Wouldn’t it be awesome if I could finish Chapter 8 during my daughter’s nap tonight? It’s already at 2,353 words so technically it only needs 1,456 words. But I could get away with just 1,000. Several of my chapters are over the required 3,809.5 words. Some are below, but most are around there. Chapter 7 is at 4,001 words (it was an even 4,000 until I noticed that a word was missing in the middle of a sentence).

*As a side note, I just rediscovered the purpose of home phones in this day and age: to find your cell phone. I lose it every day.*

Has anyone ever used Scrivener? Or what about JukePop? Scrivener looks like a good program to work with but I’m worried about spending the money on something that I won’t find much use for. If you don’t know what Scrivener is, it’s basically a program that allows you to write whatever it is that you’re writing, organize your notes, have a separate section for research, and (the most exciting part) it has a way to keep the notes and research that spans over several books in a series all in one place so you can easily find what you need.

JukePop looks fun to me. It’s basically television, but in the writing style. I signed up for it so I could read a few and I’m really enjoying the one I found, it’s extremely funny. I’m more concerned about the author side of the site. And I just don’t know if that’s something that readers would like to have. I’ve never heard of the site and it doesn’t have a forum for people to talk to each other but I do follow a really awesome blog that does something similar to it and that seems to be pretty popular (shout out to you Dysfunctional Literacy, love your stuff). If you are on JukePop as an author, or have been before, let me know what you thought about it. I don’t want to get ripped off or have someone steal my work or whatever.

Well, I guess that’s all for now. Have a nice day everyone!!

Leave a Reply

