A Star Is Born

Does anyone else dream of being interviewed for their thirteen week bestseller by any one of the many, many, many talk show hosts on TV? Does anyone prepare what they would say when asked the random questions all the viewers are dying to know? As ridiculous as I feel about admitting it, I definitely do. Usually when I’m falling asleep or when I’m trying not to get my hopes up for when I publish my book. It will not be a bestseller. Even if it’s amazing.

Most books never are bestsellers. Even if God himself couldn’t write a better masterpiece, it could never, ever be a bestseller. Now that I’ve killed all your hopes and dreams, I hope that your book is a bestseller. I love nothing more than a great book. Especially when I didn’t think it would be a good book at all. But being a bestseller means very little. Sure, a bunch of people bought it and loved it enough that the host of the bestseller list took notice and promoted you so that you would bring in more sales. And sure, being a bestseller generally means that you have very good ratings. But other than that, it means very little. And it’s very short lived (generally).

I didn’t see the Hunger Games when it came out in theaters, although I wanted to. And I didn’t see it right away when it hit Redbox, although I wanted to. It was months after everyone else in the world saw it that I finally saw it. I fell in love with it. I knew it was a book series that everyone seemed to love, kind of like Twilight and Harry Potter. So when I fell in love with the movie, I immediately made the assumption that the books would at the very least be just as amazing. So not long after that, I went shopping at the Half-Price Bookstore in Tacoma up here, and I bought the first book (they didn’t have any of the others). I read it and enjoyed it, but I felt that I had been taken in. But, it didn’t deter me from buying the other two at full retail price and reading those as well. While I really enjoy The Hunger Games series, I don’t completely understand why it had become so immensely popular. The writing in the first book wasn’t up to par with other books. The writing was lacking. When I had finished reading it, my very first thought was, that must have been her first book written ever. And I was right. While I certainly can’t condemn her for her first written book to sound like it was the first book she wrote, I couldn’t help but feel that the following two books, weren’t as good. Her style of writing in the first one was unique, it was lacking in something that I can’t really put my finger on, but it worked for the personality of Katniss and it really drew me in. The next two were different. They were the same style, but I felt that Ms. Collins had tried way too hard to mimic the style of the first one, and it fell flat. These things bothered me a lot. More than they should actually. But it’s still a good series and I recommend them.

But how did they become bestsellers? Who decided that they were bestseller and Hollywood material? Even Covergirl has joined the hype with their line of Capitol makeup.

The bestseller thing is all kind of funny in how it works. A book can be stagnant, selling very little copies, for years and then just suddenly take off for a few weeks before it drops back down again. Mark Coker, the founder of Smashwords, did a very interesting article of this type of thing on his blog back in late spring/early summer. And of course, now I can’t find it. But here’s the link to his blog, he has a lot of really amazing posts that help authors with their marketing and things like that.

Yesterday I posted how I was doing NaNoWriMo again this year. I need to write 2,041 words a day to meet their goal. I need to write 2,078 a day to meet mine. Not too much of a difference. And I’ve only written 683 today. I need 354 to finish Chapter Seven, and 1,395 to meet my goal for the day. So, off to do more writing. Maybe. The two year old wants to serve me tea.

2 thoughts on “A Star Is Born

Leave a Reply

