I need help!

A little update. I haven’t written. Anything. I’ve been busy running errands and then two days ago, my daughter decided to be sick with the flu. I even had to call in to work this morning because her fever was just under 103°. Of course, after we took a nap together this morning which ended at eight minutes after I was supposed to be at work, she was back to normal and hasn’t spiked since. Go figure. Not that I wanted to go to work anyways, but now I’m only going to get paid for two days this week. So hopefully I can get in as much writing as possible over the next three days. Now to the help!

When I was in middle school, I had quite a few books that I loved. I loved Fear Street, books about other countries, The Magic School Bus, The Berenstein Bears, and two books that I can not, for the life of me, remember what they were called or who wrote them. So I need help. The one I remember more about was this story about this girl who is dragged to an antique shop with her mom. She hates antique shops and either takes interest in an old doll house there, or her mom does and she hates it. Either way, she gets it for her birthday. It sits in her room for a bit before she starts to play with it, and she releases her daily stresses and anger on the dolls by having them reenact her days (like her mom yelling at her for bad grades). Then she somehow (I can’t remember exactly how) finds herself as a doll in the dollhouse and finds out that the dolls are evil and have their own miniature version of her house and have been causing havoc in her life. The second book is about mice. I don’t remember much about this book, but I think it was a series and the mice went on little adventures that all tied into one story line (versus one adventure per chapter). The Secret of Nimh sounds like the right title, but the description doesn’t sound like the right story. I’m going to check it out at the library and start reading it. I’ll be happy if it turns out to be the same story, but I won’t keep my hopes up too much. I also know it was an old book. It had older drawings on the cover and it was covered in that old crinkly plastic they used to put over books to protect them. If you have any idea what either of these books are, please let me know in the comments. I really would like to have them for my daughter to read someday.

Leave a Reply

