So Much For Goals (Oh, And I Talk About Books I Love)

So today is my second day off in a row, and I haven’t written a thing in days. Usually, this would make myself mad, but I’ve been sick since Thursday and I just can’t find it in me to care right this second (in short, I feel too shitty to give a crap). Additionally, I still haven’t been able to fix my word program problem. My boyfriend suggested I try to copy the files from his computer and put them on mine. I don’t know if that’ll work, but no harm in trying.

Honestly, this post is taking me hours to write. But in that time, I did write 240 words, ran to the store, ate some food, and I’m about halfway done loom knitting one sock for my sister.

Books! One reason this post is taking me so long to write, is because I wasn’t sure what to write about and when that happens, I tend to blog hop instead of writing on my own (which I’m thinking of redesigning). But on my way back home from the store, I realized that I don’t really talk about the books that I’ve read and loved. So here goes.

I’m going to start out by saying that I LOVE Harry Potter. All of them. I love how Rowling writes (I haven’t had the opportunity to read any of her other books yet, but I will eventually). I’ve read on other blogs, review sites, Amazon, what have you, that many people have problems with how simple and ‘child-like’ her writing is, which I have to wholeheartedly disagree with. To me, when someone says that an author, a very successful author at that, has a writing style that is far too simple, I think that they are really saying is that she didn’t….. embellish her novels. She didn’t add any useless words to make her story more ‘sophisticated’. I think that some people look down their noses at books they deem aren’t good enough for them for silly/stupid reasons. Rowling gets right to the point and still delivers a very powerful story line that last SEVEN BOOKS. That alone, is purely amazing.

But my favorite book Β isn’t one of the seven Harry Potter’s. It’s quite different actually.

Pride and Prejudice has been my absolute, without a question or a doubt, my favorite book ever written in the history of all novel writing. I LOVE it so much. When the movie version with Keira Knightly and Matthew Macfayden was released, my mom had bought, even though she had never read the book. I saw the trailer, read the back of the case, and decided that it sounded good and popped it into DVD player. As it turns out, that simple, single decision has been one of the best things I have ever done in my entire life. As soon as that movie was over, I decided to read the book. I felt this inexplicable need to read it. I don’t remember how I got the book itself, it was either a Christmas present, I bought it, or I already had it (from a previous Christmas present). Either way, it wasn’t long until I read it. I remember the first time I read it. I was in awe from page one, a smile lit on my face the entire time as my own heart swelled for love for the characters (especially Mr. Darcy). Since that evening, I have read the book at least twice a year, every year. I read it when I don’t know what else to read, I read it when I want to be romanced, I read it when I want a book that won’t disappoint and still surprise me, and I read it when I can’t stop thinking about reading it. I read it a lot. It’s on my phone, my Nook, and I have two paperback copies of it (it is a truth universally known that I long for an early edition, although it may never happen). That book, and actually the movie too, are probably my biggest obsessions. And no one else I know has ever read it. I take that back. I recommended it to my grandma, and she said it was a little hard to read (which it actually can be, it’s an older English) and she just couldn’t get into it. I. Was. Mortified.

Now you may be thinking to yourself, ‘none of these are horror books’. Truthfully, I haven’t read a whole lot of horror and I rarely watch movies in that genre (I scare easily). But what I have read, I like. Confession, I have never read any Stephen King (shocking, I know). I saw a few of the movie adaptations (Carrie was my favorite), but I haven’t read any of his stuff. I have read one Dean Koontz book. And I really liked it. A lot. And I don’t even remember the name of it. I read it in high school for English class and I kind of remember what it was about. If I remember correctly, it was about this man that had some sort of evil something in the shed in his backyard, I think. If you know what book I may be talking about, please let me know.

So the only other horror related books I’ve read are R.L. Stine’s Fear Street books. Which was actually odd. Everyone else I knew loved the Goosebumps series, but I never cared for those. Overgrown bugs that have been mutated just isn’t my thing. A guy falling in love with a girl who has an evil twin sister is though. I loved reading Fear Street. I don’t know if any of you have ever read those books, but go check them out. I mostly read them when I was in middle school, but they’re pretty good. The picture of this book is the one with the evil twin. You can read the Goodreads description and reviews here.

There are a lot of other books that I at least really liked, but it would take me about a week to even think of most of them, and I just don’t have the time for that. Jane Austen has many amazing books, there are quite a few Fear Street books, and I still have many Dean Koontz (and Stephen King) books to read.

What are your favorite books to read?

9 thoughts on “So Much For Goals (Oh, And I Talk About Books I Love)

  1. I read goosebumps as a kid and transition to fear street in my pre-teen years. I loved fear street. I read too many of it that I knew who the villain was once all the characters were introduced. LOL

  2. Great choices! I love the Harry Potter books too, and The Lord of the Rings…and what else…it would take a while. πŸ™‚

    ~Aspen

Leave a Reply

