Hello? Light at the end? Are you there?

It’s funny now to think that at the beginning of August (of this year), I had a crazy goal of having Bugs done before September hit, including all the editing and formatting. True, if I worked all day every day with no interruptions including writer’s block, it could have been done, but I have a job, a boyfriend, and a two year old. And those are just my every single day distractions. I had a family picnic in August, sweltering heat, a few episodes of writer’s block, and all these other things (like unpacking….it’s taking me forever!). So once September came, I was crazy again and said before October, I would at least have it all written. I don’t think it was even three days later and I knew it wasn’t going to happen.

So with the 920 words that I wrote today, I have written a total of 21,130 words, out of the 80,000 goal. And I did some more craziness and added some math to it tonight. If (this one most likely actually means will) I write 70 more words tonight, I’ll be at 21,200. I can write 800 words tomorrow and 1,000 a day for the next 58 days and be done with the pre-editing parts. AND if I instead write a whole chapter everyday, with a current chapter word average at 4,042, I can finish in 15 days. Like with my previous bouts of craziness, they both are very doable. But the second one will highly conflict with my daily distractions and still get enough sleep to make it to work in the morning accident free. But the first, is extremely doable, but still not likely. There are days where I will sit at the computer, pull everything up, and then just stare. Nothing comes to me for many reasons, including exhaustion and an inability to convey my thoughts into words on the screen. And then there are some days where I write a lot more than a measly 1,000 words. The most I’ve ever written in a day was around 3,000 (another reason the second crazy idea was very crazy). I know that if I really worked hard at it, and forced myself to write something, anything, then I can most definitely be done in 59 days. I would LOVE to be done in 59 days (before editing and formatting, obviously). And I can, and will, certainly strive to write my 1,000 a day.

Maybe even this Friday, I’ll go and buy a cheap planner that I can record my days progress in (I love organizational things like that).

So my daily goal will be to write 1,000 words a day. And I will do my very best to do that. But for now, I don’t see the light at the end, and it can be very discouraging. That is, until I reread my outline, then I get that burning passion for my plot rekindled, and it’s amazing.

Leave a Reply

